SPE Announces 2017 International Award Recipients

Join SPE in congratulating the 2017 International Award recipients. SPE presents international awards to recognize those who have made significant technical and professional contributions to the industry, and those who have contributed exceptional service and leadership to the society. SPE international awards are presented at the Annual Awards Banquet at ATCE which takes place 9-11 October 2017 in San Antonio, Texas.


Honorary Membership

Akhil Datta-Gupta

Anil Kumar

Robert Moore

Alexander Neyin

Dean Oliver

Sidney S. Smith, Sr.

Dongxiao Zhang *


Distinguished Membership

Sidqi Abu-khamsin

Nabeel Al-afaleg

Matthew Balhoff

Jose Bashbush

John de Wardt

Effiom Edet

Steve Flew

Barrett Hanson

Mehdi Matt Honarpour

Hui-hai Liu

Rustom Mody

Nobuo Morita

Quoc Nguyen

Okurerie Ogedegbe

Sara Ortwein

Donald Paul

Teri Reed

Sidhartha Sur

Ruud Weijermars

Murtaza Ziauddin


Distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award

Amin Nasser


John Franklin Carll Award

Mukul Sharma


 Anthony F. Lucas Gold Medal

Karen Schou Pedersen *


Lester C. Uren Award

Quoc Nguyen **


DeGolyer Distinguished Service Medal

Sameh   Macary *


Charles F. Rand Memorial Gold Medal

Nasir Al-Naimi


Robert Earl McConnell Award

Charles Williams *


Public Service Award

Saka Matemilola *


Distinguished Service Award

Colin A Black *

Maria Capello

Frederic Jean-Bernard Guinot *

Anuj Gupta *


Distinguished Achievement Award for Petroleum Engineering Faculty

Ramona Graves


Young Member Outstanding Service Award

Mohamed Abd Elrahman

Ali Alkhatib

Alexey Borisenko

Pringle   Egbe

Augustina Ovuema

Babatunde Yusuf


Cedric K. Ferguson Medal

Lu Chi

Zoya Heidari

Directional-Permeability Assessment in Formations With Complex Pore Geometry With a New Nuclear-Magnetic- Resonance-Based Permeability Model   [SPE-179734 –PA]


Completions Optimization and Technology Award

D. V. Satya Gupta


Drilling Engineering Award

Eric van Oort


Formation Evaluation Award

Mark Proett


Health, Safety, Security, Environment, and Social Responsibility Award

J. Jack Hinton


Management and Information Award

Reidar Bratvold


Production and Operations Award

Kenneth Sorbie


Projects, Facilities, and Construction Award

Jean-Francois Saint-Marcoux


Reservoir Description and Dynamics Award

Tayfun Babadagli


*        Automatically elected as SPE Distinguished Member

**      Also elected as SPE Distinguished Member


Funded By AIME:

  • Honorary Membership

  • Anthony F. Lucas Gold Medal

  • DeGolyer Distinguished Service Medal

  • Charles F. Rand Memorial Gold Medal

  • Robert Earl McConnell Award

SPE Announces 2017 International Award Recipients

01 August 2017

Volume: 69 | Issue: 10



Don't miss out on the latest technology delivered to your email weekly.  Sign up for the JPT newsletter.  If you are not logged in, you will receive a confirmation email that you will need to click on to confirm you want to receive the newsletter.