SPE Announces 2018 International Award Recipients

Join SPE in congratulating the 2018 International Award recipients. SPE presents international awards to recognize those who have made significant technical and professional contributions to the industry, and those who have contributed exceptional service and leadership to the society.

SPE international awards are presented at the Annual Awards Banquet at ATCE which takes place 24-26 September 2018 in Dallas, Texas.


Honorary Membership

Christine Ehlig-Economides
Behrooz Fattahi
C. Susan Howes
Mridul Kumar
Madelyn Holtzclaw
Stefan Miska 

Distinguished Membership

I. Yucel Akkutlu
Ghaithan Al-Muntasheri
Ashraf Al-Tahini
Mohammed Badri
Linda Battalora
Elizabeth Cheney
Eldon Dalrymple
Mohammad Fassihi
Daniel Georgi
Berna Hascakir
Jan Dirk Jansen
Chet Ozgen
Terry Palisch
Ian Phillips
Alejandra Reynaldos Rojas
James Sheng
Ovadia Shoham
Pedro Silva
Rick Stanley
Michael Thambynayagam

John Franklin Carll Award

Sadanand Joshi

Anthony F. Lucas Gold Medal

Robert Barree*

Lester C. Uren Award

Jitendra Kikani*

DeGolyer Distinguished Service Medal

Anuj Gupta

Charles F. Rand Memorial Gold Medal

Scott Sheffield*

Robert Earl McConnell Award

Ali Ghalambor

Public Service Award

David C. Baldwin*

Distinguished Service Award

Annie Audibert-Hayet
Deepak M. Gala*
Mohan Kelkar
Terry Palish**
Hemanta Sarma 

Distinguished Achievement Award for Petroleum Engineering Faculty

Jan Dirk Jansen**

Young Member Outstanding Service Award

Zeid Ghareeb
Rafael E. Hincapie
Francis Oko
Yogashri Pradhan
Mouza Al Houqani

Cedric K. Ferguson Medal

Mahdi Haddad – Medal
Jing Du and Sandrine Vidal-Gilbert - Certificates
SPE-179164-PA Integration of Dynamic Microseismic Data With a True 3D Modeling of Hydraulic-Fracture Propagation in the Vaca Muerta Shale

Completions Optimization and Technology Award

C. Mark Pearson

Drilling Engineering Award

Dan Scott

Formation Evaluation Award

Leonty Tabarovsky

Health, Safety, Security, Environment, and Social Responsibility Award

Richard Haut

Management and Information Award

Pierre Delfiner

Production and Operations Award

Jennifer Julian

Projects, Facilities, and Construction Award

Siamack Shirazi

Reservoir Description and Dynamics Award

Mustafa Onur

*        Automatically elected as SPE Distinguished Member

**      Also elected as SPE Distinguished Member


Funded By AIME:

  • Honorary Membership

  • Anthony F. Lucas Gold Medal

  • DeGolyer Distinguished Service Medal

  • Charles F. Rand Memorial Gold Medal

  • Robert Earl McConnell Award

SPE Announces 2018 International Award Recipients

SPE Staff

06 July 2018

No editorial available



Don't miss out on the latest technology delivered to your email weekly.  Sign up for the JPT newsletter.  If you are not logged in, you will receive a confirmation email that you will need to click on to confirm you want to receive the newsletter.