Lynn Laverty Elsenhans

Saudi Aramco appointed five new members to its board, including a woman executive, a milestone for Saudi Arabia. The new members are Mohammed A. Al-Jadaan, Saudi Arabian minister of finance; Mohammed M. Al-Tuwaijri, Saudi Arabian minister of economy and planning; Peter L. Cella, former Chevron Phillips Chemical president and CEO; Lynn Laverty Elsenhans, former chairwoman, president, and CEO of  Sunoco; and Andrew N. Liveris, director and former executive chairman of DowDuPont, and chairman and CEO of the Dow Chemical Company (Liveris is retiring from DowDuPont and Dow effective 1 July and his board appointment at Saudi Aramco is effective 1 July). The new members join the six returning members of the board.

Lynn Laverty Elsenhans is the first woman to be appointed to Saudi Aramco’s board of directors. She was the chairwoman, president, and CEO of Sunoco from 2008 to 2012. Before that she was the executive vice president of global manufacturing for Royal Dutch Shell, where she worked for more than 28 years. Elsenhans also served on Baker Hughes’ board of directors from 2012 to 2017 and sits on the board of GlaxoSmithKline.

The outgoing members of the Saudi Aramco board are Majid Al-Moneef, advisor to the Royal Court; Khaled S. Al-Sultan, rector of King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals; and Peter Woicke, former managing director of the World Bank and former vice president of the International Finance Corporation.




Don't miss out on the latest technology delivered to your email weekly.  Sign up for the JPT newsletter.  If you are not logged in, you will receive a confirmation email that you will need to click on to confirm you want to receive the newsletter.