New Wiki Features SPE, Other Engineering Societies

Get lost in a world of technology, science, and innovation with the Engineering and Technology History Wiki (ETHW). With categories that range from computing and electronics to energy, ETHW’s collections delve into the people, discoveries, and movements behind history’s most innovative technological advances. As the premier global record dedicated to preserving and interpreting the history of technological innovation, ETHW encompasses more than a century’s worth of scientific and technological history. Included within ETHW’s archives are more than 800 oral histories and more than 275 first-hand histories, thousands of scanned archival documents, landmarks and milestones maps, lists, and timelines, hundreds of hours of audiovisual material, and lesson plans for educators.

ETHW exists thanks to the collaborative effort of several engineering societies: The American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers (AIME) and its member societies SPE, AIST, SME, and TMS; the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE); the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE); the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME); and the Society of Women Engineers (SWE). These groups teamed up with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) using a grant from the United Engineering Foundation to expand the IEEE Global History Network and rebrand it as the Engineering and Technology History Wiki.

Several current and past AIME trustees and member society leadership have had their oral histories captured. To explore those, visit AIME_and_Its_Member_Societies:_AIST,_SME,_SPE,_and_TMS.

AIME and its member societies have uploaded a variety of information to the ETHW to preserve and promote the important milestones of the collective disciplines. The SPE section includes articles about David Anthony, Ken Arnold, Lyn Arscott, Khalid Aziz, Tom Blasingame, Jim Brill, Martin Chenevert, J.C. Cunha, David Curry, Ted Frankiewicz, Sam Gibbs, Alain Gringarten, Satya Gupta, Don Hannegan, Byron Haynes, Stephen Holditch, Roland N. Horne, C.A. Hutchinson, Jim Jorden, Janeen Judah, Fikri Kuchuk, Larry Lake, W. John Lee, William C. Maurer, Harry O. McLeod, Jr., Nathan Meehan, Jennifer Miskimins, Carl Montgomery, Roland Moreau, Shauna Noonan, Steve Poston, Bill Rehm, Leon Robinson, Trey Shaffer, Mary Van Domelen, Ralph Veatch, and G. Paul Willhite.

Additional material will be released through the end of this year and notifications of new material will be posted on Facebook and Twitter. As a wiki-based resource, the ETHW is a collaborative encyclopedic database of information that relies on contributions from members and the general public. Users can register for free accounts and submit their experiences. To submit content, go to and click on “Create content.”


Don't miss out on the latest technology delivered to your email weekly.  Sign up for the JPT newsletter.  If you are not logged in, you will receive a confirmation email that you will need to click on to confirm you want to receive the newsletter.