Winners of 2019 SPE Presidential Award for Outstanding Section Announced

Nine SPE sections have been awarded the 2019 SPE Presidential Award for Outstanding Section, the highest honor a section can receive. The winning sections are

Benin City Nigeria
Gulf Coast
Warri Nigeria

These sections form the highest-ranked 5% of SPE’s 203 sections around the world. Formerly known as the President’s Award for Section Excellence, the award scores the sections on their activities for technical knowledge dissemination (30%), section operations and sustainability (30%), member benefits (20%), outreach (10%), and innovation (10%).

The awards will be presented to section officers at the 2019 SPE Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition in Calgary, Alberta, Canada.

Section Excellence Award Winners

Thirty seven SPE sections won the SPE Section Excellence Award. Formerly known as the Gold Standard, the Section Excellence Award is now given to 20% of eligible sections, doubling from previous years to recognize more deserving sections. A certificate is emailed to the award winners.


           Astana Edmonton Mexico South Australian
Azerbaijan Egyptian North India Suriname
Balikpapan Erbil Northeast Colombia Tashkent
Bangalore Ghana Northwest Russia Tyumen
Barmer Hassi Messaoud Oklahoma City Ufa
Calgary Ivano-Frankivsk Patagonia Uganda
Colombian Juba Permian Basin Vietnam
Croatian Kingdom of Saudi Arabia Port Harcourt  
Duliajan Lagos Qatar  
Eastern Venezuela Lima Sabah  

To learn more about SPE sections, and to find your nearest section, click here.